Weekend Bytes: It’s My Birthday and I’ll Bake a Lemon Cake If I Want To

My friend Molly loves lemon cake and I have to admit that the right lemon drizzle dessert will awaken a feeling of summer frivolity in my own taste buds. So here I am on the Friday of my birthday weekend and I am craving a slice of birthday cake. Yes, birthday cake tastes differently from everyday cake. I don’t know exactly, maybe the wish makes it magical, but it definitely is a different kind of cake then everyday cake. And lemon birthday cake would be magical and summery… The last time I baked a birthday lemon cake was for my friend Alex and it was in the shape of a sandcastle. That was a good cake. I actually lightly buttered the pan and instead of flour used cinnamon in the mould so the darker edges would look like wet sand. My pan was from Williams-Sonoma, but it’s still available for $29.95 from Amazon.com£32.25 from Amazon.co.uk, and $32 plus S&H from Nordic Ware.

So, I went searching online for recipes to make my mouth water and here’s what I found. I’ll check back after the big birthday weekend with the result and let you know which I tried and how the baking worked out.

Poppy Seed Lemon Cake from smitten kitchen

Lemon Mascarpone Layer Cake from Pathani Khan

Lemon Explosion: Lemon Sponge Cake with Lemon Curd Filling & Cream Cheese Frosting from The Baking Barrister

Lemon Cake in a Mug from SoEasyRecipes.com

Tricia’s Lemon & Sour Cream Cake

Evelyn Rose’s Luscious Lemon Drizzle Cake from BBC

Lemon Layer Cake from BlindDonut

Lemon Baked Goods from Mystery Lovers’ Kitchen

Mrs. Pettigrew’s Lemon Cake

Lemon Yogurt Cake from The Urban Spoon

Sweet Lemon Cupcakes from Williams-Sonoma

Moist Lemon Cake from Odlums

Moroccan Lemon Cake from Belina Garcia

Lemon Pudding Cakes from Williams-Sonoma

Tangy Lemon Cake from Odlums

Mary Ann Cake with Lemon Curd and Blueberries from Williams-Sonoma

Not quite lemon cake, but definite lemon-y goodness…

Limoncello Thumbprint Cookies from Local Lemons

Best Blueberry Scones with Lemon Glaze from Steamy Kitchen

Iced Lemon Slices from Odlums

Lemon Crème Fraîche Loaf Cake

Lemon Drizzle Cake

3 thoughts on “Weekend Bytes: It’s My Birthday and I’ll Bake a Lemon Cake If I Want To

Leave a Reply

